How to promote, unenroll, transfer, or remove a student from/to a class roster
Each of these activities has a different effect on the student record. Click the link to learn how to step through each option.
- Promote: When you promote a student from one class to another, the student stays in the original class and is also copied to the promoted class. Historical attendance data is not affected by the promotion.
- This is the option used to promote students from one grade to the next after the attendance year is completed.
- This option is also used to copy students from one class to another. For example, if the students in the first grader's Sunday School class should also be enrolled in the First Communion class, you would use the promote option to copy the students from Sunday School to First Communion. If some of the students are not participating in the First Communion class, you could either not select their names for the initial 'promotion' or use the Remove option listed below to remove their names from that class.
- Unenroll: When a student is unenrolled from a class, the attendance history is saved and can still be accessed, but the student is no longer on the class roster. The student's name will display on the class details page, but with a line through the name indicating they are no longer enrolled.
- Transfer: When you transfer a student from one class to another, the student is unenrolled from one class and added to the other. Historical attendance data for the 'transfer from' class is saved.
- Remove: When a student is removed from a class, it is as if the student was never in the class. All attendance records get removed as well as the student.
Please sign in to leave a comment.