CMS Contributions - How Can I Delete a Batch?

You can easily delete a batch prior to posting.  From your CMS Contribution System, click Enter Contributions.  From the Select Batch screen, single left click the batch number you'd like to delete and click the Delete Batch button on the right side of the screen.

If you've already posted the batch of contributions, there are just a few more steps involved.
 
Make sure you have a backup of your data before beginning this process.
 
You will need to know the Batch Number of the batch you would like to delete.
 
From CMS, click File | Utilities | CMS File Editor | click OK at the warning message.
 
Click the Select Table to Edit button and open the DETAIL.DB table.
 
You will see a screen with several columns and rows of data.  One of the columns is Batch Num.  Right-click the first number you see under the Batch Num column (not the words Batch Num, but the actual number) and choose the word Filter.

At the Filter for Batch Num field, type in the batch number you wanted to delete.  Click OK.

Now the only batch number you should see is that batch number, probably repeated in many rows.
 
Click the Empty Table button at the top of the screen.  Click Close.


 
Next, click File | Utilities | Repost Utility | Process.

This will recalculate all of your QTD, YTD, and Calendar YTD totals, based on the new information. Once complete, go back into the Contribution System.
 
Click Process | Calculate Pledge Balances | Process.  This will recalculate any Drive to Date and pledge balance totals.

Once that's complete, you're done!  That batch has been deleted.

NOTE:  You will not be able to re-use that batch number.  The system will continue on with the next batch number.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.