CNFS Offering: How to Commit a Quick-Entry Batch

The process of committing a batch saves the batch details and the contribution records in the batch to your database. The instructions in this topic show you how to commit a batch that was created using the quick-enty posting process.


Commit Overview

Committing a Batch

Commit Overview

It is important to understand that the batch entry form provides a convenient way for you to enter information for each contribution into a batch. The contributions you enter into the form, however, are not yet actual contribution records saved to your ConnectNow database. The records in the form exist in a temporary table. When you commit the batch, the records are transferred and saved to your database. During the process of committing the batch, the system performs more checks to ensure that the data is error free. If the system finds errors, they are reported to you and you must fix and then recommit the batch. After a batch is committed, the system stores both the details about the batch and the contribution records in the batch to your database.

Note that after you commit a batch, you can still make certain changes and corrections to it. It is only after you close a batch that the system locks it and prevents you from making any changes.

Committing a Batch

After performing an initial check on the batch to determine that it is in balance and that no transactions contain errors (for example, a non-existent envelope number), the system displays this link at the bottom of the batch entry form:

You have completed the batch. Click here to Commit.

To commit the batch:

  1. Click the Commit link.

The system performs another series of validation checks to ensure that all of the data in the batch is still accurate and that the batch is still balanced.

  • If the system finds no errors, it displays a message to inform you that the batch is balanced and can be committed.

  • If the system finds errors, it displays a message to give you details about the errors found.

  1. Do one of the following:

  • If the system indicates that the batch can now be committed and—importantly—if you are ready to commit it, click .

The system displays a message to inform you that the batch was successfully committed.

  • If the system indicates that the batch still contains errors, you must fix the errors before committing the batch. After you finish making corrections to the batch, try again to commit the batch by starting at Step 1 in this procedure.

  1. Do one of the following:

  • If you have the appropriate permissions tied to your login credentials, the Close Batch button is available. If you are ready to close the batch, click . If you do not want to close the batch now, click  to exit the 'Commit Successful' message.

  • If you do not have the appropriate permissions tied to your login credentials, the Close Batch button is not available (dimmed). A user with the appropriate permissions must close the batch. Click  to exit the 'Commit Successful' message.

The toolbar on the Batch Management page contains a Close Batch button. Only a user with Close Batch permissions for Offering can use the button to close a batch. It is not available to a user who does not have that permission.

If you want to view a report showing details for contributions in the batch, go to the Reports page and create a Batch Detail report.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.