CNA L&P - Budgets: How to lock a budget and prevent changes

How to lock a budget and prevent changes from being made

Not only can you lock a budget in the Accounting software, but also, you can limit which budgets can be locked and unlocked. The system blocks importing budgets if the lock feature is turned on, and you will not see the Submit button in the budget entry screen.

By default, the system allows the following users to lock and unlock budgets:

  • Diocesan Administrator
  • Consolidation Users
  • Church Administrators

You can manage which user roles can perform the task to lock and unlock budgets:

Step 1: Open Consolidation Manager

Step 2: Click Options

Step 3: Scroll down to the Lock/Unlock Budgets section

Step 4: To remove permissions for a specific role, simply select the role's checkbox to lock (and unlock budgets) remove the check-mark and click Submit. 

Once the feature is turned on and permissions are granted, log in to the organization whose budget you want to lock, open Ledgers and Payables, click Process, then select Lock/Unlock Budget to display a list of budgets you can lock/unlock:

To lock a budget check the box, to unlock a budget remove the check mark and click Submit

Caution: You cannot archive an account with a budget in the current or future year. If an account has a budget in closed years, the system allows you to archive it.


Related articles

Budget: About Budget Entry (FAQ)



Have more questions? Submit a request



Please sign in to leave a comment.