A user's permissions show as (Permissions cannot be edited)
When adding a new user, a Permissions Template is selected. Depending on the template chosen, you may or may not be able to make changes to the user permissions.
Most users are created using a (permissions) template. The "General" template was used for the account shown in the screenshot below. Since this template does not allow changes to permissions, when you bring up this account under Permissions → Quick Find, you will see an alert that permissions cannot be edited.
To correct this, and to be able to edit the permissions for your user, follow these steps.
- Go to Users.
- Select the account.
- Click the drop-down for Permissions Template and select the No Template - Customizable Permissions option. Click Submit.
- Now go to Permissions.
- Bring the User's permission profile back up.
- The (Permissions cannot be edited) bar should now be gone. You may now edit permissions for the user.